Beginning in 1994, Tuckahoe Habitat for Humanity is dedicated to eliminating substandard housing in Caroline and Queen Anne's Counties while providing opportunities for homeownership for deserving families with the need for adequate housing.

One of Habitat for Humanity International's 1,300 local affiliates, Tuckahoe has completed 18 new homes in Caroline County, including a 9-home new subdivision in the town of Federalsburg. We currently have two homes under construction in the redevelopment district of Denton (Caroline) and one home under construction in Centreville (Queen Anne's).

We have mobilized over 3,300 volunteers and with our philosophy of "it's not a hand out, it's a hand up", our partner families work side by side with these volunteers. 

In addition to building affordable housing, Tuckahoe Habitat for Humanity is a designated Neighborhood Revitalization affiliate which serves local neighborhoods by responding to community aspirations with an expanded array of products, services, and local partnerships that empower residents to revive their neighborhoods and enhance their quality of life.

We have begun the predevelopment of the Rebecca Tylor Center located on Gay Street in Denton's redevelopment district. The Center will include office and living classroom space dedicated to affordable homeownership and six new Habitat for Humanity homes. 

About Us

Rendering of the Rebecca Tylor Center - art done by Suzette Kelly

Construction Manager, John Piposzar, teaching volunteers on the worksite.

2018/19 Officers and Board of Directors

W. Andrew Hanson, President
John W. S. Foster III, Vice President Queen Anne's County
Doncella Wilson, Vice President Caroline County
Maria R. Hynson, Secretary 

Jamie Williams, Treasurer
Ray Spradling                Bernard Liswell
Marcia Rostein               Darius L. Johnson‚Äč

Seeking two additional mission committed

Directors - banking/accounting/legal 

Director Emeritus

Ralph W. Brome          William G. Nickum

Signe Hippert           John H. Nussear

Randy Jenkins, Executive Director
John Piposzar, Construction Manager